Learn more about SecuriSync
Lookup Article by ID:
 
 

How To Wipe The BlackBerry® Clean And Set It Up Again

 

Before you attmept to erase any data, first go to HostPilot® Control Panel and reactivate the user. Read the Knowledge Base article on How to activate a new or replacement BlackBerry for instructions.

To erase all the data on your BlackBerry device, complete the following steps. This option is available with
BlackBerry Device Software 3.8 and later. 

  1. Open your device Options.
  2. Select Security. If you are using BlackBerry Device Software 4.1, click Security Options > General Security.
  3. Tap Security Wipe.
  4. Select data to delete and type “blackberry” to confirm wiping of the device.
  5. Tap Wipe. Specified data on the BlackBerry device will be erased.

On some new versions of BlackBerry software, the menu navigation is slightly different.

  1. Go to Options.
  2. Select Security Options.
  3. Select General Settings.
  4. Click the Menu key.
  5. Select Wipe Handheld.
  6. Click Continue.
  7. Type “blackberry”. All the data on the BlackBerry device is erased. 

Once it is wiped, hard-reset the handheld and perform BlackBerry Wireless Activation again.

BlackBerry is a registered trademark of Research In Motion Limited.

 
Article ID: 1314
Keywords: Blackberry wipe reactivation
Direct Path: http://hosting.intermedia.net/support/kb/viewKBArticle.asp?id=1314
 

Copyright © Intermedia, Inc. 1995 - 2014. All Rights Reserved.

Users of this site agree to be bound by the Intermedia Service Agreement,
Service Level Agreement, and Acceptable Use Policies.
Legal | AUP | Privacy Policy