You are only allowed the same quantity of phone numbers as you have users. For this reason, if you disable Hosted PBX for a user, you must also delete a phone number, even if the user did not have an assigned phone number. (However, if you have created fewer phone numbers than users, you do not have to delete a phone number.)
You can choose which number to delete. You may want to delete the number that was assigned to the user, or a number that is not assigned to anyone. If necessary, you can reassign the number that the user had, and delete a different one.
This is important because once a number is deleted, you will not be able to get the same number for your account again.
If you remove a user (disable Hosted PBX service for a user):
- The user's phone number is unassigned and becomes available (if a number was assigned, and if you did not delete it).
- The user is removed from any hunt groups.
- The user is removed from any Auto Attendants that included this user for forwarding calls.
If you delete a phone number that is assigned to an active user, that person will not be able to use the PBX service unless you assign a new number.